Home / General Awareness / Nobel Prize Winners in Physics year Wise Since 1901

Nobel Prize Winners in Physics year Wise Since 1901

All Nobel Prize Winners in Physics for government exams.Nobel prize as discussed earlier are one of the greatest prizes which are given to the individuals solo and in group for their contribution in Physics, chemistry, medicines, Economics, peace and literature. A lot of persons have been awarded the Nobel Prize from time to time for achieving distinction in their area of field and to contributing to the humanity which has served peace in the world. The Nobel Prize is being given since 1901 by the Norwegian and Sweden. Originally it was constituted by the inventor of dynamite, Sir Alfred Nobel a Swedish scientist in the year 1969 and through the money collected in the fund from Nobel foundation the award is given to the persons. It contains a cash prize which is highest in the world and a appreciation letter. The current Nobel Prize has been awarded to 4 people for having contributed to humanity with the energy saving techniques which is the discovery of blue LED lights. With the discovery of LED lights, the world has become more power savvy and a lot of homes have been able to be lighted with the same available energy efficiency. This is made an alarming progress and soon it has been acquired and used in all the major works and lighting purposes due to its energy saving efficiency.

Those scientist for their discovery must have been rewarded and for the same purpose the Nobel foundation have recognized the work of such scientist and in the year 2014 all those scientists who are involved in the discovery of LED light which made the energy saving possible and is a form of sustainable development have contributed to the service of mankind and they are awarded the Nobel prize for physics.

Sir Venket Raman was the first India physicist who was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics and after whom his nephew who later acquired the US citizen S Chandrasekhar was also awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics later for his discovery of the Chandrasekhar limit.Here is the complete list of the Nobel prize in the Physics for competitive exams.

List Of Nobel Prize Winners in Physics year Wise:

Year Name of the Noble Laureate Year Name of the Noble Laureate
1901 Wilhelm Conrad Rontgen 1958 Pavel Alekseyevich Cheren-Kov, Ilja Mikhailovich Franck and Igor Yevgenyevich Tamm
1902 Hendrik Antoon Lorentz and Pieter Zeeman 1959 Emilio Gino Segre and Owen Chamberlain
1903 Pierre Curie and Marie Curie, nee Sklodowska 1960 Donald Arthur Glaser
1904 Lord Rayleigh (John William Strutt) 1961 Robert Hofstadter & Rudolf Ludwig Mossbauer
1905 Philipp Eduard Anton von Lenard 1962 Lev Davidovich Landau
1906 Joseph John Thomson 1963 Eugene Paul Wigner & Maria Goeppert Mayer and J. Hans D. Jensen
1907 Albert Abraham Michelson 1964 Charles Hard Townes, Nicolay Gennediyevich Basov and Aleksandr Mikhailovich Prokhorov
1908 Gabriel Lippmann 1965 Sin-Itiro Tomonaga, Julian Schwinger and Richard P. Feynman
1909 Guglielmo Marconi and Karl Ferdinand Braun 1966 Alfred Kastler
1910 Johannes Diderik van der Waals 1967 Hans Albrecht Bethe
1911 Wilhelm Wien 1968 Luis Walter Alvarez
1912 Nils Gustaf Dalen 1969 Murray Gell-Mann
1913 Heike Kamerlingh Onnes 1970 Hanees Olof Gosto Alfven & Louis Eugene Felix Neel
1914 Max von Laue 1971 Dennis Gabor
1915 Sir William Henry Bragg & William Lawrence Bragg 1972 John Bardeen, Leon Neil Cooper and John Robert Schrieffer
1916 No prize was awarded this year 1973 Leo Esaki and Ivar Giaever & Brian David Josephson
1917 Charles Glover Barkla 1974 Sir Martin Ryle and Antony Hewish
1918 Max Karl Ernst Ludwig Planck 1975 Aage Niels Bohr, Ben Roy Mottelson & Leo James Rainwater
1919 Johannes Stark 1976 Burton Richter and Samuel Chao Chung Ting
1920 Charles Edouard Guillaume 1977 Philip Warren Anderson, Sir Nevill Francis Mott and John Hasbrouck van Vleck
1921 Albert Einstein 1978 Pyotr Leonidovich Kapista
1922 Niels Henrik David Bohr 1979 Sheldon Lee Glashow, Abdus Salam and Steven Weinberg
1923 Robert Andrews Millikan 1980 James Watson Cronin and Val Logsdon Fitch
1924 Karl Manne Georg Siegbahn 1981 Nicolaas Bloembergen and Arthur Leonard Schawlow & Kai M. Siegbahn
1925 James Franck and Gustav Ludwig Hertz 1982 Kenneth G. Wilson
1926 Jean Baptiste Perrin 1983 Subramanyan Chandrasekhar & William Alfred Fowler
1927 Arthur Holly Compton & Charles Thomson Rees Wilson 1984 Carlo Rubbia and Simon van der Meer
1928 Owen Willans Richardson 1985 Klaus von Klitzing
1929 Prince Louis-Victor Pierre Raymond de Broglie 1986 Ernst Ruska & Gerd Binning and Heinrich Rohrer
1930 Sir Chandrasekhara Venkata Raman 1987 J. Georg Bednorz and K. Alexander Muller
1931 No prize was awarded this year. 1988 Leon M. Lederman, Melvin Schwartz and Jack Steinberger
1932 Werner Karl Heisenberg 1989 Norway F. Ramsey & Hans G. Dehmelt and Wolfgang Paul
1933 Erwin Schrodinger and Paul Adrien Maurice Dirac 1990 Jerome I. Friedman, Henry W. Kendall and Richard E. Taylor
1934 No prize was awarded this year. 1991 Pierre-Gilles de Gannes
1935 James Chadwick 1992 Georges Charpak
1936 Victor Franz Hess & Carl David Anderson 1993 Russell A.Hulse and Joseph H. Taylor Jr.
1937 Clinton Joseph Davission and George Paget Thomson 1994 Bertram N. Brockhouse & Clifford G. Shull
1938 Enrico Fermi 1995 Martin L.Perl & Frederick Reines
1939 Ernest Orlando Lawrence 1996 David M. Lee, Doughlas D. Osheroff and Robert C. Richardson
1940 No prize was awarded 1997 Steven Chu, Claude Cohen-Tannoudji and William D. Phillips
1941 No prize was awarded 1998 Robert B. Laughlin, Horst L. Stormer and Daniel C. Tsui
1942 No prize was awarded 1999 Gerardus ‘t Hooft and Martinus J.G. Veltman
1943 Otto Stern 2000 Zhores I. Alferov and Herbert Kroemer & Jack S. Kilby
1944 Isidor Issac Rabi 2001 Eric A. Cornell, Wolfganf Ketterle and Carl E. Wieman
1945 Wolfgang Pauli 2002 Raymond Davis Jr. and Masatoshi Koshiba & Riccardo Giacconi
1946 Percy Williams Bridgman 2003 Alexi A. Abrikosov, Vitaly L. GInzburg & Anthony J. Leggett
1947 Sir Edward Victor Appleton 2004 David J. Gross, H. David Politzer and Frank Wilczek
1948 Patrick Maynard Stuart Blackett 2005 Roy J. Glauber & John L. Hall and Theodor W. Hansch
1949 Hideki Yukawa 2006 John C. Mather and George F. Smoot
1950 Cecil Frank Powell 2007 Albert Fert and Peter Grunberg
1951 Sir John Douglas Cockcroft and Ernest Thomas Sinton Walton 2008 Yoichiro Nambu & Makoto Kobayashi and Toshihide Maskawa
1952 Felix Bloch and Edward Mills Purcell 2009 Charles Kuen Kao & Willard S. Boyle and George E. Smith
1953 Frits (Frederik) Zernike 2010 Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov
1954 Max Born & Walther Bothe 2011 Saul Perlmutter, Brian P. Schmidt and Adam G. Riess
1955 Willis Eugene Lamb & Polykarp Kusch 2012 Serge Haroche and David J. Wineland
1956 William Bradford Shockley, John Bardeen and Walter Houser Brattain 2013 Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs
1957 Chen Ning Yang and Tsung-Dao (T.D.) Lee

General Awareness For Bank Exams

Computer Knowledge For Banking

One comment

  1. good and helpful

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *